Activity Calendar – will be back January 2022!

Please contact our Advisors with any activity support queries in the meantime

Activities Support

Organise an activity for your Section

The activities calendar contains all the opportunities, including those you would need to organise for your section, for example, a caving experience with our Caving leader. Other activities are by invitation, for example, air weekend experience at Henstridge airfield. And some you organise direct with an external provider, for example, gliding.

Advisors

Many of the adventurous activities require specialist leaders with the appropriate training and permits. Whilst this might be delivered locally, Dorset Scouts support by offering its own adventurous activities programme for young people and adults and delivering adult training. Melvin Stroud heads up the Dorset Scouts activities team – activities@dorsetscouts.org.uk

The following people can offer knowledge and advice for running activities.

ACC Air Activities – Chris Chappell – airactivities@dorsetscouts.org.uk

ACC Land Activities – Andy Young – landactivities@dorsetscouts.org.uk

Caving Adviser – Mike Read – caving@dorsetscouts.org.uk

Archery Adviser – Ray & Jackie Harris – archery@dorsetscouts.org.uk

ACC Water Activities (Joint) – Mark Wildman and Paul Rayner – wateractivities@dorsetscouts.org.uk

DofE Adviser – Andy Miles – dofe@dorsetscouts.org.uk

Queens Scout Co-ordinator – James Winchester – queensscout@dorsetscouts.org.uk

ACC International – Jane Mearns – international@dorsetscouts.org.uk

Nights Away are the essence of scouting and Dorset Scouts support the permit scheme which is generally run by each district.

Joe Merefield is supporting Mike Winchester as the County Nights Away Adviser for Dorset Scouts and is on – nightsaway@dorsetscouts.org.uk

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls